What equipment do I use for Aerial Photography

I often get asked what equipment I use.  I shoot a Nikon D300 with a Nikon 18-200mm AF-S DX VR lens.  Prior to the D300, I used a Nikon D200 and prior to that, a Nikon D70.  I now take the D200 as a backup.

I have a 8GB high speed CF card and several 4GB and 2GB CF cards as backups.  Typically, the 8GB will get me through a flight.

I always shoot in RAW mode at ISO 200 (minimum on the D300) and typically shoot in manual mode with a shutter speed of around 1600 at F6.3.  Obviously, I change this depending on lighting.

Although my lens has vibration reduction (hence the “VR”), to be honest, it doesn’t really play a role in aerial photography.  The vibrations and movement is so fast, I’m forced to shoot at a high shutter speed with or without.

After the flight, I use Adobe Lightroom to manage the photos.  I then post to SmugMug (more on this later).

~ by gregorywilson on December 13, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
